ICC U19 World Cup gave these 6 biggest stars to India


Image Source : GETTY
ICC U19 World Cup: Big stars the tournament has given to Indian cricket

The 14th edition of the ICC Under-19 World Cup will start from January 14. This time this tournament will be played in the West Indies, in which once again the Indian team is a sure contender for victory. The Indian team may have lost to Bangladesh in the final match last time but this time the Boys in Blue are eyeing the trophy. India last won this tournament in the year 2018 under the captaincy of Prithvi Shaw. After doing wonders in the Under-19 tournament, Indian cricketers have left their mark in the senior team and world cricket. Here’s a look at 6 Indian players who have not only made their mark in world cricket after playing in the Under-19 World Cup but have also left their mark.

  • Yuvraj Singh- India won the Under-19 World Cup for the first time in the year 2000 when India defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in Colombo. Yuvraj Singh was also the Player of the Tournament of this tournament. After that he made his debut for the senior team India. He made his debut in the ICC Knock Out Trophy in Kenya. Yuvraj left his mark on not only Indian cricket but also world cricket, hitting six sixes in an over in the T20 World Cup. Apart from this, he also got the title of Man of the Series in the 2011 World Cup.
  • Mohammad Kaif- Mohammad Kaif was the captain of the Indian team that won the Under-19 World Cup in 2000. Like Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif also left his mark in international cricket. He is one of those Indian players who were praised for fielding for the first time. His match-winning performance in the NatWest Trophy 2002 is also the highlight of his career.
  • Shikhar Dhawan- With 505 runs in the 2004 tournament, Delhi opener Shikhar Dhawan had conveyed through his bat that he was ready to make a mark in cricket. Dhawan was the highest run getter in that tournament and was named Player of the Tournament. After a poor debut in limited overs cricket, his fortunes changed and in the year 2013, he scored a century in the debut match in Test cricket. It was only after that that he cemented his place in Team India as an opener and was also a part of the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy in which India emerged victorious.
  • Rohit Sharma- Rohit Sharma, who was part of Team India in T20 World Cup in 2006, may not have won that tournament but he definitely left his mark in India. India lost the final match of that tournament to Pakistan. Despite losing the title match, Rohit cemented his place in Team India in ODIs and T20s and he has maintained that place till date. Then he also proved himself as a Test opener. He has now also become the captain of the limited overs Indian team.
    रविंद्र जडेजा- सौराष्ट्र के ऑलराउंडर रविंद्र जडेजा 2006 और 2008 के अभियान का हिस्सा थे। उन्होंने दोनों एडिशन का फाइनल खेला है। 2008 में उन्होंने ट्रॉफी भी जीती जिसके बाद उनको आईपीएल खेलने का भी मौका मिला। टेस्ट क्रिकेट में नंबर-1 गेंदबाज बनना उनके करियर का एक बहुत बड़ी उपलब्धि है।
    विराट कोहली- 2008 अंडर-19 विश्व कप की भारतीय टीम के कप्तान रहे विराट कोहली ने अपनी टीम को विजेता बनाया था। भारत ने खिताबी मुकाबले में साउथ अफ्रीका को हराया था। उसके बाद उन्होंने कभी पीछे मुड़ कर नहीं देखा। 2011 आईसीसी विश्व कप और 2013 आईसीसी चैंपियंस ट्रॉफी जीतने वाली भारतीय टीम का वे हिस्सा थे। वे अब अपने जेनेरेशन के महान बल्लेबाजों में गिने जाते हैं। उन्होंने कई रिकॉर्ड्स भी बनाए और तोड़े हैं। टेस्ट क्रिकेट के वे सबसे सफल भारतीय कप्तान हैं और उन्होंने टीम इंडिया के सभी प्रारूपों की कप्तानी की है। अब फिलहाल वे टेस्ट टीम की कमान संभाल रहे है।